Resolution for Intent to form a New Conference Passes

I am pleased to announce that the Memphis and Tennessee Annual Conferences have voted, each by more than 87%, to endorse the intent to move forward with a plan to form a new conference!

With this positive vote, the conferences have agreed to rely on God to show us the “new thing” that God is doing! (Isaiah 43:19).

Next steps:

  • We will continue to model innovation, unity, and good stewardship of our resources.
  • In the 2018-2019 conference year, the Memphis and Tennessee Conferences will continue the process of alignment in any additional areas where there might be a benefit to both conferences.
  • The advisory team will continue its work on two main items listed below needing more clarification, with quarterly reports during the 2018-2019 conference year.

a. The methodology used to pay for the conference budget, including health

and pensions costs.

b. A decision regarding utilization of one health care provider for both conferences.

  • The advisory team will complete its study and offer its findings on these and any other remaining items no later than the 2019 annual conferences.
  • Each conference will receive additional information and will then vote upon whether or not to approve a plan for a new conference in 2019.
  • If each conference votes in 2019 to approve such plan(s), including a motion for approval to the Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference in 2020, and if those are passed, we will meet as a fully unified new annual conference in 2021.

The Advisory Team includes lay people and clergy from both conferences. This includes leaders identified by position and also those who have shown dedication in service. The individuals serving are:

Scott Aleridge                                                 Jim Allen

Allen Black                                                     Bill Bowen, Sr.

Melinda Britt                                                  Bryan Brooks

George Brown                                                Lane Camp

Lisa Carson                                                    Richard Clark

Kevin Conrad                                                 Larry Davis

Keith Enders                                                   Joe Geary

David Hayes                                                   Frank Holbrook

Leslie Hotzfeld                                                Bethany Huffman

Terry Hundley                                                 Amy Hurd

Johnny Jeffords                                              Tom Laney

Rob Martin                                                     Bishop Bill McAlilly

Bill Milliken                                                    Ken Murray

Holly Neal                                                      Donna Parramore

John Pearce                                                    Paul Purdue

David Reed                                                     Deborah Smith

Lynn Taylor                                                     Tommy Ward

Ed White                                                         Nita Wright